HCMO Journal 4

As far as editor and publishing duties go, this week was about as convenient as they come. The only story I had to publish was actually an opinion piece that I wrote for the Collegian called “Austin is Angry.” You can find that piece, as well as all of our Hastings College coverage at http://www.hcmediaonline.org.

As far as writing the story goes, I had an amazing time with it. It gave me the chance to vent about the friction caused when we mix religion with social media. I did my absolute best to say what I meant to say, while remaining as politically correct as possible.

I have enjoyed the opportunity thus far to participate as a daily editor. Each week I’m presented with the challenge of not only ensuring proper writing goes up on the site– but ensuring I don’t damage the integrity of the writing. The entire process is nothing but beneficial to me. I not only enhance my media skill set, but I add to my professional portfolio in the process.

I believe being a daily editor makes me more cognizant of what I publish on my own site as well. I make more of a conscious effort to not have babbling nonsense, especially in my writing. Online text is always a challenge due to the quick-click mentality of the internet.

Leave a comment